Backup Workspace

Description

You can backup and restore desktop applications using the Backup Workspace utility on the Desktop Control Panel.

To back up a workspace:

  1. On the Desktop Control Panel, select Tools > Backup/Restore Workspace > Backup Workspace.

  2. The Backup dialog box appears.

    images/UG_Backup_dialog_box.png
  3. Select the drive for the backup files from the Create backup on drive list. Backup files are best saved separately from the working files, such as on a CD, in a zip file, or in some other remote location.

  4. Click the 'up' button to select the folder for the backup files from the Create backup in folder field.

    images/List_Button_Blue_Up.gif
  5. Display the Files tab to select the files that you wish to backup.

  6. Optionally, check Include Web Projects files? (Alpha Anywhere version 6 and above.)

  7. Optionally, click Mark Files... to display the Mark Files dialog box.

    • 1. Click OK to place checkmarks to the left of all files.

    • 2. Click Data Files Only and OK to place checkmarks to the left of data files only.

    • 3. Click Application Files Only and OK to place checkmarks to the left of application files only.

    • 4. Click Files with specified extensions... to select files by their description.

    • 5. Click OK.

  8. Optionally, click Unmark Files... to display the Mark Files dialog box.

    • 1. Click OK to remove checkmarks from the left of all files.

    • 2. Click Data Files Only and OK to remove checkmarks from the left of data files only.

    • 3. Click Application Files Only and OK to remove checkmarks from the left of application files only.

    • 4. Click Files with specified extensions... to select files by their description.

    • 5. Click OK.

  9. If you selected 7d or 8d, you will see the Mark or Unmark dialog boxes.

    • 1. Place checkmarks next to the file types you want to backup.

    • 2. Click OK to continue.

      • Data Files 

        • Tables

          • Application Files 

            • Libraries

              • Table dictionaries

                • Sets

              • Optionally, click Backup to copy your files immediately.

              • Optionally, clear Compact Workspace before Backup.

                Compacting your workspace frequently removes deleted files and reduces the chance of workspace corruption.
              • Optionally, clear Retain previous backups.

              • Optionally, click Load Settings to restore the initial setting that the dialog had when it was opened.

              • Optionally, click Save Settings to be able to run the backup using the command Tools > Backup/Restore Workspace > One-step Backup.

      If you want to run a backup from a button via action scripting, refer to Run a Custom Backup Job.

      Limitations

      Desktop applications only. Not available in Community Edition

      See Also